Finding God's Goodness

Week Fifteen: My Faith. Death on a Cross

Month Four – Loving Myself. Fortitude with Faith produces patience

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, and are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station.

The12th station, as taken from Magnificat Lent Companion, Jesus dies on the cross, demonstrating the virtue of fortitude.

On the cross, Christ remains the supremely brave man. He is the king of martyrs. The church reminds us that by undergoing his passion and death, Christ gives new meaning to the virtue of patience. As Christians, we are asked to sustain the burdens of sin and remain in the world. Whereas those who know not the Crucified One find nothing to command and sufferings, the one who learns the lessons of Christ cross discovers the victory that belongs to those who wait on the lord. The virtue of fortitude strengthens us against succumbing to the blackmail of the evil and sin in the world and in ourselves.

Heavenly father, the death of our Lord Jesus Christ upon the cross opens for sinful mankind the way to salvation. Christ your son became obedient until death so much did he love us. Grant me the grace to sustain whatever burdens this life on earth and poses so that nothing will separate me from the love that never ends.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s